Changing Lifestyle I


I encourage everyone to enhance their lives by taking control of their time and just making it happen!

ชาวตลาดนัดความรู้ รุ่นที่ ๒ คงจะจำคุณ Pertti Rapo ที่เป็นหนึ่งในทีมของบริษัท Datapro ที่มาบันทึกกิจกรรมของเราและถ่ายทอดสดผ่านอินเตอร์เน็ตรายการเสวนาเพื่อนช่วยเพื่อนในวันที่ ๒๕ พฤศจิกายนได้ คุณ Pertti ฟังภาษาไทยได้บ้าง เย็นวันนั้นคุณ Pertti เอารูปของตนเองตอนที่มีน้ำหนักตัวมากๆ มาให้ดูและเล่าว่าได้ออกกำลังกายเป็นประจำ ปัจจุบันจึงมีรูปร่างดังที่เห็นอยู่ ดิฉันจึงบอกว่าให้เขียนเรื่องมาเล่าในบล็อก วันนี้คุณ Pertti ได้ส่งเรื่องมาทาง e-mail มีเนื้อหาเยอะจึงขอแบ่งเป็น ๒ ตอนนะคะ ถ้าสมาชิกอ่านแล้วให้ความเห็นไว้ด้วย ดิฉันเชื่อว่าคุณ Pertti คงดีใจมากๆ เลยค่ะ

วัลลา ตันตโยทัย วันที่ ๒ ธันวาคม ๒๕๔๘

Dear Dr. Valla,

Here attached is my promised story.
I hope it fits to your weblog. If you wish, I can provide the pictures
separately, instead of the PDF/file. Just let me know.
When writing it, I realized that I may need to study more about Diabetes
factors. Looking into my numbers, I feel that I may be in a risk group and
may develop a DM, if I am not careful...

Kindest Regards

Pertti

 

Changing Life Style

Becoming a sports man and runner after 50, can be beneficial for health!

I had just become to my 51th year spring 2002 (I was born in Finland), when I realized that if I wanted to continue my life, I would need to change something. My adult life had been quite stressful, but still quite funny life in different places. For the past more than 20 years, I had lived in France, Mexico and California and traveled a lot because of my work. This kept me, or I thought it did, busy from doing any physical exercise at all.

So, since my teen age years, there was never time to do any sports or workout, except some downhill skiing once or twice a year during the preceding few years. Well, the real reason to not making any regular exercise, may have been simply laziness or preferring to do something more important. Every day there was a reason not to do any physical effort. This lifestyle had accumulated into my body and the living weight was around 122 kg and unnecessary to say, I felt it all over. At the age of 51, when visiting doctor’s office, it became to be clear that this should not continue, or else the life would turn sad.

I must put your on cholesterol and blood pressure medication, because life dangerously threatening factors are building up in you, literally, as we speak, doctor explained.

In addition to the cardiac functions related risk factors, I also had some emerging sign of sugar levels. I am not an expert in this matter, but I started to be afraid that I could also develop diabetes very soon.

Strict diet for 9 months…
So the doctor told that I need to start medication now and that this will continue for the rest of my life. In my head, starting a regular daily medication program, was something that I hated and, that I felt, totally unacceptable and therefore, I insisted, that I would instead start nearly 100% vegetarian life with absolutely no meat, just fish once or twice a week.

The doctor accepted my proposal and I felt that vegetarian life was enjoyable; I have always really liked vegetable and fruits and life without meat was not any challenge at all. During 6 months, I was very very strict with everything I was eating and thought things will straighten up quickly… Still, in spite of 3 x 45 minutes per week bicycle training in fitness center, my weight, 122 kg, did not change things at all.

((For some reason, though out my life, my “calorie resistance” has always been low. If I eat more than 1600-1700 calories per day, I keep adding my weight slowly, but surely, my body just uses every piece of food to build up! I really mean it, I have been through several very strict low calorie diets and I know exactly how many calories I eat every day.))

I finally went back to see my doctor hoping to hear the good news after the laboratory results. But no! She told me that we must start the medication immediately as there was practically no change in my cholesterol levels and my blood pressure – and my weight was also close to what it was in the beginning of the strict diet. The doctor explained me that my body was simply transforming the carbohydrates and sugars into fat/cholesterol and the only remedy was medication. I was really devastated with this “conviction”, but had apparently no other choice than to accept.

Complications
3 months with cholesterol control medication (Lipitor) dropped my cholesterol levels close to acceptable figures, but my weight remained quite stable. Then, I suddenly started to have nearly unbearable pains in my leg, arm and other muscles. I got really worried.

Muscle pains increased all the time, and, after consulting many websites, I was convinced, that I was one of those sensitive peoples, that may have high risk to develop dangerous conditions with these drugs, and that this could lead to severe consequences and finally to death (that was my own belief).

I went back to my doctor and told that the time has come to stop this medication. She explained that she did not believe that anything dangerous was happening to me, but agreed that we stop immediately and after a few month pause we would study to find other alternatives to Lipitor.

(To be continued)

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #lifestyle#physical activity
หมายเลขบันทึก: 8667เขียนเมื่อ 2 ธันวาคม 2005 22:52 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 11 กุมภาพันธ์ 2012 14:11 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: จำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (2)

ลดน้ำหนักได้เยอะจริงๆค่ะ  ดูเพรียวขึ้นมากเลย...(นายแบบดูดีนะคะ)

Love to do so, but very difficult to get start.
พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท