Right Teaching for Right Reading : วิธีสอนการอ่านที่ถูกต้องแก่เยาวชน


After making a comment in วิธีสอนการอ่านที่ถูกต้องแก่เยาวชน by ชยันต์ เพชรศรีจันทร์ < https://www.gotoknow.org/posts/580485>. I thought I had not made my point clear. So here is my view.


1) Reading is an important life skill taught over many years (in school) because knowledge has been recorded (in letters) for many thousands years. [Reading (books) is not needed in societies where knowledge is passed on by other means such as oral recites, audio-visual media and 'hand-on' practices.] Though currently multimedia have gained popularity, reading, writing and books will be the main stream of knowledge transfer for a long time.


2) I think, we are looking for 'best methods' to teach children to read correctly, to comprehend what they read, and to love reading often. So the emphasis is on the teachers and methods of teaching. Teachers have onus (responsibility) to teach children in the right method(s) and to teach children to read 'right' (to pronounce right, to be able to analyse what they read grammatically and understand the meaning of what they read, Otherwise they cannot infer knowledge from what they read.) It is this point that I think we should be clear before we embark on finding 'right' teaching methods. Children can benefit greatly from learn to read right. They should be encouraged to explore reading right and see/gain the benefits for themselves.


3) Because reading right cannot be learned in a short time, we need a continuing program/campaign to teach this skill to children. The teaching methods then need to be staged and continued consistently over a number years (and over schools so that children movements won't greatky impact their learning. That is right teaching to read right should be a national program.)


4) Enjoyment from reading can be enhanced by 'right writing'. Without right writing for children at appropriate skill levels, the right teaching would still struggle hard and children would be discouraged - thus the 'teach-right for children to read-right' would be doomed eventually and the children would be left waiting for another reform!

5) Reading is a life-long-learning skill. Reading foreign languages right can be very beneficial too. Reading 'patterns', 'signs', (dynamic) 'processes' and machine interface icons and languages can make life easier too.

Reading is now elevated from pronunciation (making right sounds for words) to inferencing (making right interpretation for symbols -- even mathematical symbols and patterns) to understanding of representations -- like learning what data says or researching. But This is where I stop ;-)


หมายเลขบันทึก: 580525เขียนเมื่อ 15 พฤศจิกายน 2014 12:34 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 17 พฤศจิกายน 2014 18:04 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-ไม่ดัดแปลงจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (7)

สวัสดีค่ะคุณSr..อ่านบันทึกนี้แล้ว..คิดถึง..ตอนเป็นเด็กๆ..เจ้าค่ะ..."พออ่านหนังสือเป็น"..ชอบอ่านเชอรล้อคโฮม(แปลเป็นไทยในสมัยนั้น)ชอบอ่านนิทานเรื่องเจ้าชายดำรงฤทธิ์..สนุกมาก(แอบคิดถึงตอนนั้น..และก็เลยเป็นเด็กชอบอ่าน..แบบไม่มีใครมาบอกว่า..อ่านถูกวิธี..เป็นไง..๕)...จำได้ว่า..อยากรู้ตอนจบเป็นไง..ก็อ่านตอนจบก่อน..หนังสือบางเล่มหนาอ่านจบวันเดียวไม่ได้..แม่ดุและตี..เวลากินข้าว..อีกมือมีหนังสือ..(กินไปอ่านไป)..๕...ตอนกลางคืนอ่านต่อให้จบ..เพื่อไม่ให้แม่เห็น..(คลุมโปงเปิดไฟฉาย..อ่าน..๕)..แม่ลุกไปห้องน้ำ..มาเห็นเข้า..เลย..โดนหักเบี้ยเลี้ยง..ไม่มีตังค์..ไปซื้อนิทานมาอ่านอีก..เลย๕...

ตอนโต..มีครู(อาจารย์)จบอักษรศาตร์..มาอ่าน..ให้ฟัง..ชม.วรรณคดี..(หลับไปเลย)เลย..ไม่ได้อ่านแบบที่ได้ยินมา...๕

ตอนจบ..มหาวิทยาลัย.และมีโอกาศพาตัวเองมาอยู่นอกกระลาที่เคยๆ(กระลาใบใหม่..เมืองนอก)..บอกตัวเองว่า..ไม่อ่านแล้ว..ไม่สนุก..จะเรียนโลก..(อิอิ)...มันกว้างเป็นแค่รูปสี่เหลี่ยม..เล็กๆ..แต่มันทำให้คนไม่มีเวลาอ่าน...๕..

เลยจิ้มๆมาฝาก..วันนี้..เจ้าค่ะ...(อ้อ.)มี.เด็กรุ่นนี้มาทำวิทยานิพนธ์ที่เยอรมัน..แต่จะต้องเขียนเป็นภาษาอังกฤษ..โปรเฟสเซอร์เป็นเยอรมันพูดไทยเขียนภาษาไทยได้..(น่าจะอ่านได้ด้วยนะ)..ภาษาอังกฤษที่จะเขียนส่ง..คนอังกฤษอ่านแล้วต้องแปล..กลับเป็นภาษา..อังกฤษ..อีกที...(งงงงๆๆจุงเบย...ดีนะเจ้าคะ...อ่านและเขียน)..อิอิ...

Actually, it could be my fault to make you feel that what you'd explained was unclear. After reading this, I'm sure I know what you mean in your comment in วิธีสอนการอ่านที่ถูกต้องแก่เยาวชน and I still confirm my answer in that post. I agree with all your thought and that's why I said no matter how we say this sentence, they're all important and required for all children.

Thanks ยายธี and โอ๋-อโณ

I am like ยายธี I just love reading. I was about 10 when I read all (5000 Thai) books in my (then) local library and many (2000) books in the library of the Buddhist wat nearby. At times, I remember I could read 4-5 pocket books in a day (between classes and meals and sleep and basket ball). That was my good time -- learning.

We all know what reading can bring forth (for us). But we do have children (and older people) who can do more reading but do not. That is a big problem and it has been like that for a good while. Enough to say that children of not-read-a-lot parents also do not read a lot. I salute Dr จันทวรรณ for asking for 'how to teach reading-a-lot habit'.

(By the way I don't think I learned to read aloud much, Most of my reading was very much imagination expanding, very little correct 'sounding' or corect 'spelling'. We may say that this is like 'pattern recognition' rather than 'ก า ร อ ่ า น ที่ ถู ก ต ้ อ ง' ;-)

The history of my reading is very much the same with you...I read all books that I like in my house and all those novels in the local library. I read everything even dictionaries. I have books everywhere around my place and that may be the reason that all my three sons also love to read. I've never taught them how to read, the way to read or any specific thing about reading. I just read and supply them whatever they want to read. For us, this is the right way!

ดิฉันกำลังสงสัยว่าการอ่านหนังสือกระดาษ กับอ่านหนังสืออิเลคโทรนิคแตกต่างกันอย่างไร ในแง่ของการปลูกฝังนิสัยรักการอ่าน

เคยอ่านคงามเห็นของดร.ท่านหนึ่ง สนับสนุนให้เด็กอ่านหนังสือกระดาษ จำเหตุผลไม่ได้แล้วค่ะ

Hi nui ; I personally see reading (books and other symbolic expressions) as a means to gain information (and/or imagination) from media devices (paper, radio, TV, computer/tablet/phone/Internet, ...). We may limit our definition of reading to 'books' (or paper based media) and only to transform letter combinations into words (of a language). I think this definition is holding us back a fair way. It stops us from reading many technical expressions for examples data tables, mathematical expressions, application menu/icons, traffic signs, electronic circuits, colours and shapes of leaves (for signs of deficiencies), rock texture (for mineral contents), lanscapes (or topologies for underlying infrastructures -- mountains must have caves or hollows otherwise they will sink into 'supporting grounds'), waterways and vegetation, ... I would even define reading foreign languages as another reading.

As you can see by simple generalization of reading (a book), we can learn to read many more things in our world and learn to understand our world better. Read to understand.

อนุญาตให้แสดงความเห็นได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท