My New Writing Tool


My New Writing Tool


I have been given an Android phone to play with. It is an old Xperia Acro S updated with Android 4.1.3 and loaded with apps ready to pounce on the Social Nets (Fb, google+, Line, ...). But after a few days poking my thick fingers at the phone, I bought a Bluetooth keyboard and installed Hardware Thai Keyboard (from gadgetdoor.com; because both Xperia and google keyboard layouts only allow Thai input on virtual keyboard but do not allow choosing Thai physical keyboard layout for external keyboard; shame, shame). I installed Ted (Text editor) then JOTA (with more features), tested them and decided to keep both of them.

This is a usual set-up for a desktop computer. The box is replaced by a phone which also serves as a mouse pad. A USB or a Bluetooth keyboard will do (in case of this phone but not all smart phones offer external keyboard capability). The computing power of this phone is better than lower end of desktop computers.


With this setup, I now have a new typewriter. A less energy consuming one than a laptop or a desktop computer. It does not require me to be parked at a desk near power points. What more is this setup is very portable I can sit under a tree and type. And my big fingers duel with virtual touch keyboard comes to settle peacefully - no more swearing at miss-types every 2 seconds. I can type in the way I have been typing for many years.


But the 4 inch phone display is rather small to review and revise text. So, I use a HDMI (microHDMI-standard HDMI; A-D) cable to mirror the phone display on a bigger screen TV. This saves my eyes and emotions but increases my energy bill and ties me back to my desk. Sigh!


This story is written with my new tool. (ผม)เขียนภาษาไทยได้ด้วย แต่ช้าหน่อย และปัญหาที่ยังแก้ไม่ได้ คือการต่ออินเตอร์เนต ไอ้เอสพี ที่ต้องใช้ คิดค่าบริการ เป็นเมกะไบ็ท์ เวลาเข้าเมืองก็ใช้เครื่องคอมที่ห้องสมุด เครื่องไม่มีภาษาไทย มีแต่อินเตอร์เนตให้ ต้องพิมพ์เป็นภาษาอังกฤษ เฮ้อ!


One more thing, I have things to do, animals and plants to care for. I don't have much free time to write even with this tool. So now I am looking at google "" (speech recognition) in off-line mode with the idea to talk and have text to edit later before I release. That will be a setup for me when I can resolve a few more problems.


You see I am at the age when I can do what I like (most times) but I need to like what I do. It is silly to me to do things for money. When I can live and die without money.


Keep tuning in ;-)

หมายเลขบันทึก: 597592เขียนเมื่อ 22 พฤศจิกายน 2015 10:44 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 22 พฤศจิกายน 2015 10:55 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-ไม่ดัดแปลงจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (6)

Thank you กุหลาบ มัทนา: We know where our boundaries are and doing our best to cross them ;-) One day we will be free of limitations, we shall fly high -- again.


Thanks ชลัญธร: Glad to see you drop in. How are things with you and the family?

สวัสดีค่ะ ท่าน SR ระลึกถึงท่านตลอดค่ะ

อ่านแล้วยิ้มเลยค่ะ บรรยายได้แบบนึกภาพออกเลย ชอบจังค่ะ เยี่ยมมากๆที่คุณ sr เอาของที่มันดูคนละทิศละทางมารวมกันเป็นเครื่องมือเฉพาะตัวได้เลย น่าสนุกนะคะ

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท