การสอนประชาธิปไตย


ประชาธิปไตย
ผมไปพบแนวคิดการสอนของ ครู Julie Gamponia  ในเวไซต์ bc.britishcouncil.org
เห็นว่าเป็นการสอนที่ดีมาก ที่สมควรนำมาบอกเล่าต่อ อ่านดูนะครับ
ชัด
After our CCAD workshop in Bangkok July 3-5, I have been planning some lessons and  about how to teach about democracy in my classroom. I'm still new to teaching in Thailand, having moved here from the US just 3.5 years ago. So I'm still green in learning what I can push my students to do in English. Any suggestions that any of you have on what I'm teaching would be really helpful.

Last week, I had a group of M5 (11th grade) students make a mindmap "To be a good student at my school, I should..." The next day, they had to write sentences from their mindmaps, forming a paragraph in English which they had to email to me. I wanted to read about their thoughts and opinions about being a good citizen, and citizenship begins at home then school. I was disappointed that my students' didn't think deeply about their responsibilities, but it's hard to know how to get my students to think and express themselves clearly in English when it's difficult for them to do this even in Thai.

Today, we moved on...I had them write in their notebooks about democracy: What I know about democracy (5 sentences) and What I think about democracy in Thailand (5 sentences). I asked them to do this in Thai, because I wanted to know what they know as a baseline to begin teaching concepts, definitions and ideas about democracy. This was very hard for my students, even though I asked them to do it in Thai, because their knowledge base isn't deep, and they are not used to being asked their opinions about mature concepts. I haven't yet read all of their thoughts, but I haven't been impressed by their habits of mind. It's hard teaching students to think when they are in 11th grade. They really should have these kinds of skills earlier in their education.

After collecting their notebooks with their thoughts and opinions, I allowed them to look up information online about democracy. I usually steer students to wikipedia, because it has information in multiple languages. I asked students to find 10 sentences about democracy in Thai and English, especially writing about rights and responsibilities of indivuals and the state. They had to send this information to me as an email. Although I haven't yet read their work, I'm very curious. It was not an easy lesson for my students. They were uncomfortable that I kept pushing them, insisting that they think independently and not discuss what they were writing or reading with other students. It feels like I have expectations for these students that no one else has had before. But I think it's right to push them to think and express themselves.

My next step is to read their work, explain some of the simpler concepts of democracy and hope that they will have a broader understanding of their role in developing the citizenry in this beautiful country. I have to keep thinking about how to get them to do more critical thinking, and eventually decision-making and problem-solving. Any ideas out there? I would love some feedback. Does anyone else find this work as challenging?

 

หมายเลขบันทึก: 328125เขียนเมื่อ 15 มกราคม 2010 08:07 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 20 มิถุนายน 2012 09:17 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-อนุญาตแบบเดียวกันจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (0)

ไม่มีความเห็น

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท