'used to' or 'past simple'


The difference between "I used to play with dolls when I was a child" and "I played with dolls when I was a child".

'Used to' is only used for states, habits routines and ability that have finished: I used to live in Bangkok; I used to smoke; I used to get up at 6 am when I was a student.

I can say: I went to chiang mai three times last year, but not: *I used to go to chiang mai three times last year.

You can, however, say: I used to live in Bangkok but now I live in Phitsanulok; I used to smoke forty cigarettes a day but now I only smoke five a day and I used to go to chiang mai three times a year but now I go only once a year; I used to be able to swim 10km when I was young but now I can only swim 100m before I get tired.– these are changes of state, habit, routine and ability. You can also use the past simple in these cases but possibly 'used to' is more common.

Often they have the same meaning as in sentences, though 'used to play' is less formal than 'played'. 'Used to play' usually makes it clear that you no longer play with dolls whereas 'played' leaves it open to the possibility that you still do, as in: I played with dolls when I was a child and I still do.

I hope that helps.

Toon

หมายเลขบันทึก: 573260เขียนเมื่อ 26 กรกฎาคม 2014 11:09 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 7 เมษายน 2015 02:26 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-ไม่ดัดแปลงจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (1)
อนุญาตให้แสดงความเห็นได้เฉพาะสมาชิก
พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท