เรื่องของมิสเตอร์ลู - Buddha's Smile




อันเนื่องมาจากเรื่องห้องสมุดที่ผมได้เขียนไว้คราวที่แล้ว ยังไม่จบเพราะยังมีตอนที่สอง เรื่องห้องสมุดออนไลน์ ซึ่งก็เป็นเรื่องใหม่สำหรับของที่นี่  ผมเกือบจะไม่ได้ใช้บริการ  จนกระทั่งลูกสาวกลับมาเยี่ยมบ้านตอนปิดภาคฤดูหนาว  ห้องสมุดที่นี้เขามี Website ของเขาเอง  เราจะเช็คว่าหนังสือที่เรายืมมามีกี่เล่ม  ถึงเวลาคืนเมื่อไร  ได้ปรับเท่าไร  รู้หมดทางคอมพิวเตอร์ ที่ห้องสมุดมีบล๊อคของเขาเองเอาไว้สมาชิกมาเขียน  มีคนคงอายุมากแล้ว มาเขียนไว้ เรื่องเกี่ยวกับวันคริสมาต์ส  วันฮอลิเดย์นี้ตอนเด็กๆก็สนุกกันทุกคน  แต่พอแก่ๆแล้ว ก็สูญหายตายจากกันไปทีละคนสองคน  เหลือไว้แต่ความทรงจำ คนไทยแก่ยังโชคดีได้ไปอยู่วัดอยู่วา  หาความสงบในตอนสุดท้ายของชีวิต  คนที่นี่อยู่ด้วยความเหงา 

แต่อย่างน้อย มิสเตอร์ลู คนเขียนบันทึกนี้  ก็ได้พบกับความจริงข้อหนึ่งว่า เขาเห็นรอยยิ้มของพระพุทธรูปไม่ว่าที่ไหน จะมีรอยยิ้มด้วยพระเมตตา ด้วยความกรุณาต่อสัตว์โลก  เขาให้คำตอบกับตัวเองว่า  ทำไมจึงเป็นเช่นนั้น

They are grounded in the moment, they look upon everything with sublime objectivity, they breathe the air about them with pleasure, then they raise their lips upward and the playful smile appears.  While life roars about them, they are at peace.


อย่างลืมนะครับว่ามิสเตอร์ลู ฉลองคริสมาตส์ เขาคงไม่ใช่พุทธนิกชนเหมือนพวกเรา 

แต่อย่างไรก็ตาม  เขาก็ได้พบกับความสุขอย่างง่ายๆ

แค่มองพระพักตร์ของพระพุทธรูป เขาก็มีความสุขแล้ว


The Wonder Years

Just another blog site

Time Flies…Seasonal Bites: A Taste of Now, a Taste of Christmas Past.

Posted on December 15, 2012 by Joe P.

I cannot write another word about the holidays–everything has been said.  I particularly like the advice about the true meaning and the joy that we must keep in our hearts.  I do believe it, I do.  Here’s the hook: it’s an emotionally charged time of year.  Busy this, busy that.  What to buy, or should I just give gift cards?  My Jiminy Cricket voice says, “I thought you were cutting back,  hmm?”


Listen to me. I believed in Santa Claus way too long, and sometimes I think I can be his helper.  I put up two trees, put out my outside lights, and bought three new plaques that I just love. (Don’t worry, I’ll give them away before I die.)  Back to my personal NOW. I love the holidays.  It’s genetic, I inherited it from my Dad, who played Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas,” put the tinsel  on the tree  a piece at a time, and even drilled holes in the real tree to replace a bare spot.  And when I find myself getting overwrought, getting crazy, I return to Christmas past.

My ghost of Christmas past reminds me of people that left my life for the time being, but are locked in my heart forever.  It is not sad.  I think of our Boo-Sha, that’s the Americanized version of the Polish word babcia which means grandma.  What a fine, old-fashioned woman she was.  I hit the jackpot for mother-in-laws.

Plus, she is my role model for grandmothers.  She knitted and crocheted, she kept her little two flat brick bungalow as clean as a palace, and had a stash of quaint jokes that we still kick around.  I think she signified the best of the old immigrant ideal, strongly religious, thrifty, not cheap, but careful with money.

She once took all her end scraps of yarn and knitted my kids the ugliest hats in the world.  Yet my oldest son still wears his.  He calls it his boosha hat.  And I saved her collection of salt and pepper shakers.  She had one from every state except Maryland.  No one can capture the sweetness of another person’s nature.  Let us just say, our boosha’s handmade  ornaments still hang on my tree.

Quickly, I gift you with MY BUDDHA SMILE.  Looking at eastern statuary, I noticed the soft smile on every figure; even the many versions of the Buddhas never looked severe.  Why?

They are grounded in the moment, they look upon everything with sublime objectivity, they breathe the air about them with pleasure, then they raise their lips upward and the playful smile appears.  While life roars about them, they are at peace.

Whatever your religion or persuasion, I wish you all a kinder, gentler world.

LU

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #happy ba
หมายเลขบันทึก: 516045เขียนเมื่อ 13 มกราคม 2013 05:17 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 13 กรกฎาคม 2013 20:15 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-ไม่ดัดแปลงจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (1)

"Whatever your religion or persuasion, I wish you all a kinder, gentler world."

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท