Top Web Tools for College Students


Top Web Tools for College Students
February 15, 2007 08:00 AM

I have been in college almost three years now and have been using many different Web tools that saved me time, helped me learn more and, most importantly, did not cost a penny. Here are 10 tools that I recommend for every college student:

1) Book Finder: Over a year you can end up spending thousands of dollars on books. I am one of those poor students who struggles for money, so the less I pay for books, the better. Book Finder is a neat site/tool that allows you to compare prices on more than 125 million books for sale from 4,000 sellers. So there’s no need to go to Amazon, Half.com and all the other book sites when Book Finder can search them for you.


2) MynoteIT: If you’re a real organization freak—and by that I mean someone who irons underwear—you’ll love this app. Like the Google suite, you’ll have everything at your fingertips. But, and this is a big plus, it’s just for college students. Form online class groups, share, edit and search your class notes, plan your assignments with your calendar, and get things done with your task list.

Rating:
Review: Life Hack
MynoteIT Blog

Screen shot of MynoteIT


3) Ottobib: Don’t you just hate making those bibliography pages? Although they look really simple, they can drain a lot of time out of you when you have more than 20 sources. Ottobib is a simple bibliography tool that allows you to enter multiple ISBN numbers at a time and retrieve the bibliographies in APA, MLA, or Chicago format.

Rating:
Review: Wikipedia
Ottobib Blog

Screen shot of OttoBib


4) Google Docs: Every semester it always seems that I have group projects. I use Google Docs heavily for collaboration work. I’ve had multiple papers with a partner, and with Google Docs I just give him/her editing ability on a particular document and we can write the paper at the same time while talking on AIM.

Rating:
Review: Life Hack
Google Docs Blog

Screen shot of Google Docs


5) Tada List: Scatterbrained? Disorganized? If you never can remember what homework assignments you have, Tada List will do it for you. It will help you keep track of whatever it is that you need to do and easily is accessible from any computer, wherever you are.

You can create as many “to do” lists as you like, such as “homework,” “projects,” or whatnot, and then track your items via RSS. Also, for a step up try Backpack. It manages your tasks, but also allows you to set up pages to store important files, photos and the like.

Rating:
Review: Trizle

Screen shot of Tada List


6) Meebo: I am one of those tech geeks who is a computer science major, which means I have computers in a lot of my classes. I usually get bored because my teachers are slow, so I like to go online and chat with friends to keep up-to-date on all the latest things going around school, such as parties. Instead of installing chat software every time I go to class, I use Meebo. Meebo is an online instant messaging software where you can chat with others through AIM, MSN, Yahoo Messenger and Gtalk.

Rating:
Review: TechCrunch
Meebo Blog

Screen shot of Meebo


7) Wikipedia: Although Wikipedia technically is not a tool, it’s worth mentioning. If you have to do a term paper, Wikipedia is a great resource to get your information. I would not rely on Wikipedia by itself, but it is a great place to get basic information as well as find links to other sites that discuss the topic of your term paper.

Rating:
Review: Cnet
Wikipedia Community Portal

Screen shot of Wikipedia


8) Zoho Show: Everyone I know who goes through college has to do a PowerPoint presentation sometime in their life. Some people like to use Microsoft PowerPoint, but I am not one of those guys. With Zoho Show I can edit, import, create and publish PowerPoint presentations online.

Rating:
Review: Wikipedia
Zoho Show Blog

Screen shot of Zoho Show


9) Google Reader: Talk about information. One of the main reasons I am in college is to learn, but there is so much knowledge out there that it is just hard to keep track. With Google Reader I can easily keep up-to-date on the latest news.


10) Del.icio.us: This social bookmarking site allows you to have all your bookmarks in one place and to share them with other people. The advantage to this site is that I can access my bookmarks on ANY computer. I Del.icio.us all of my college courses’ Web sites and tag them with the course name and semester date (i.e. gatech and spring07).

Usually, I’ll bookmark the class syllabus, the class wiki and the class blog. So, three to five classes are about 15 links a semester, which can be hard to keep track of any other way.

Rating:
Review: PC Magazine
Del.icio.us Blog

Screen shot of Del.icio.us

หมายเลขบันทึก: 162890เขียนเมื่อ 2 กุมภาพันธ์ 2008 17:57 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 16 เมษายน 2012 20:03 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: จำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (0)

ไม่มีความเห็น

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท