Plain and Simple English Talks (3)


About 'to do'

We use one simple English word in so many different ways to mean many different things. This word is the verb "do" ["ดู" - not "โด"] (as in 'How do you do?' or 'How are you doing?' or 'Doctor Dolittle'). Though, it is not difficult to understand what people mean when they use 'do'. We cannot 'do nothing'. We have to 'do research'. But we won't 'overdo' it. We will look at examples, try to get meanings, and keep watch for more of what 'to do'.

To do [something] means 'to perform' or 'to carry out' [some action] for examples:
She did a little dance. = She performed a little dance. = She danced briefly.
He did a U-turn. = He turned and came back.
I am doing a job. = I am carrying out a job. = I am working.

To do [something] can mean 'to make' or 'to get [something] done' for examples:
I did it. = I got it done. = I made it. = I finished/accomplished [doing something].
She overdid it. = She made too much. = She did more than she needed to do.

But 'doing' can mean 'getting along':
How are you doing? = How are you getting along? = Are you doing [things] OK?
She is doing well in her new job. = She is getting on top of her new job.

Now let us look at more examples to get/guess the meanings of 'do':
I do work! = I really/actually work!

This will do. = This is enough.
Will 100 baht do? = Is 100 baht enough?
This grade won't do. = This grade is not enough (to get into [a university]).
Talking back at parents won't do. = It is not good to talk back at parents.

I'll do [something/a dress] in blue. = I'll make a blue [something/dress].
What makes her do it this way? = What causes her to behave this way? = Why does she act...?

I have done my time. = I served the full time [in jail/duty/conscription].

We can do with more help. = We need help.
I have to do my hair for the wedding. = I need a hair-do for the wedding.

We did 10 KM to day. = We travelled 10 KM today.
We must do 2 tons this week. = We must make 2 tons [of something] this week.
This car can do 180 KPH. = This car can go as fast as 180 KPH.

We can do away with [something]. = We can go/get along without [something].

I'd better/rather/sooner do [something]. = I should/like to/must do [something].

He is well-to-do. = He is wealthy. = He well-off.

There are more ways to use 'do' or 'does' [ด๊าซ or เด๊อซ], did, done and doing. We will come back with more examples. Perhaps you can help with examples from movies, magazines, ... ;-)

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #to do#overdo#won't do
หมายเลขบันทึก: 595925เขียนเมื่อ 7 ตุลาคม 2015 01:52 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 7 ตุลาคม 2015 02:07 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-ไม่ดัดแปลงจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (9)

I will be your student from now on . Thanks so much.

Why don't you write a book to teach Plain and Simple English Talks ? It' s going to be a best seller.

I think this kind of English is a real need for non-native English speakers.

Thank you for your kind words GD,

I will look into that (publishing a book on PSE) when I see more readers/followers ;-) Let us just have fun reading odd ways English is really spoken (in AUS) for now.

Thanks Dr. Ple I can count on your support ;-) but that ruby ring is a tad too rich for me ;-)

For Thai people, as far as I've tried for the past 10 years with those around me, I found that whenever they see every words come in English, they won't try to read no matter how easy it is. Everyone love to be taught with explanation in Thai.

Yes, Thais love Thai. Thanks โอ๋-อโณ. But how do children learn a language? Do they get the message because their mother re-telling them in another language? It is very much like this - children learn by repeating words they hear (or symbols/pictures/icons/letters they see) - some times in 'other words', and some times with other gestures and senses. But the key of learning is 'repeating' over and over until understanding comes directly (without translation). Then children try to make others understand by the same strategy - repeating.

I recalled learning English for 8 years in school with little English but a lot of Thai. In my early years overseas I struggled with translating what I heard/read into Thai. Only after I had repeated enough many 'common words and phrases', I really learned another language. I realized then that I learned it in the same language!

This is what I like to say - 'learn by senses': repeat and repeat, let our senses and brain catch the language directly.

We have to learn to swim by going in water - nose deep - without a buoy. ;-)

That's why my sons and I learned English quite easily because we read English books. We constantly learned natural ways without thinking of what to learn. Thai students haven't been encouraged to read either Thai or English books for pleasure. They have to study books that used for the exams. What a system!

I like 'your natural way' of learning from reading for pleasure - or just following your interest.

Many countries now look into 'test of skills' instead of 'examinations' (exams is a misnomer because 'examiners' do not 'examine' exam-sitters). A test for English may be a short converstion between a test taker and testers on a subject - like in a gymnastic competition where a gymnast performs and referees give scores. Translating that to school tests is not easy but possible with scholars and experts in the community acting as referees. At what cost? 'What benefit?' is an answer. We spend wisely by not wasting our resources on useless and harmful things (like our current school assessments). Can we afford it? This is the question 'parents' have to wrangle on every term. Somehow they find a way to pay. Nations can do the same.

I totally agree with your suggestion. What I can do is only with those I can influence with my views and my 3 living evidences who considered to be successful young men. They don't put their life on the tread of the system but use their own judgments. Many children nowadays cannot do this because their parents don't stop to go with the existing flow. The learning system definitely has to be changed...... อ่านต่อได้ที่: https://www.gotoknow.org/posts/595925?3033923

Dear โอ๋-อโณ: Your comment about "most parents just go with the (existing) flow" had me thinking ... ;-) I'd say most parents do not know nor consider the pros and cons of 'schooling'. They have enough problems just sending their children to school and keeping them there.

We no doubts have ideas but can we change MOE and the world? We'll do what/when we can!

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท