How to express shock in English


It is sometimes difficult to say how you feel in unexpected situations, such as natural disasters, especially when you feel sad. Here's a list of some common expressions to help you express shock and disbelief.

Hello everyone,No long time to see cause I'm busy.Today I'll talk about shock in english.I just have a time to write but I 'll do my work after write this.So Boredddddd but I'll patient.

Shock

I was shocked to hear…
The news came as a complete shock.
We're all in complete shock.
Everyone's reeling from the shock of…
Who could have predicted it?
I (just) can't get over ….
We were completely taken aback by…
I was just stunned by…

 

Disbelief

I just can't believe…
It's unbelievable.
I / You just can't imagine…
Words can't describe… (how I feel about / the terrible devastation etc)
There's no way it could have happened.

 

Saying how bad something is

It's so awful.
It's terrible / What terrible news.
It's a tragedy.
It's a catastrophe (pronounced "ca - tas - tra - fee" with the stress on "-tas")
This is the worst thing that could have happened.

What a week. It was a crazy but very awesome one. Over the week I really enjoyed getting to know the teachers and having tea and lunch with them, as well as teaching them all about letterland and other aspects of teaching with activities, songs and games. I think we all connected and everyone came away learning a lot. Now I feel like I can crash and take a break =) Thankyou so much for your prayers!

 

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #expressions#shock
หมายเลขบันทึก: 195804เขียนเมื่อ 22 กรกฎาคม 2008 19:54 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 6 กันยายน 2013 19:19 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: จำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (10)

My secret !   ^-^

I feel sad when I see crying. I always cry with sad stories and sad movies while I am watching on TV.

                            

ชอบภาพสุดท้ายจัง......น่ารัก  มันไม่ใช่ของจริงใช่ไหมครับ

I always shocked at the morning when I come to my school because student makes everything---> messy

Wow! Unbelievable!

Oh! Inevitably!

ภาพสุดท้าย

ภาพเด็กร้องไห้ น่าสงสารจังค่ะ

ภาพอื่นๆ เก๋ไก๋ มากๆ ค่ะ  ..

ขอบคุณค่ะ  ... ได้ความรู้เลย

 

  • Cool !!!!!!
  •  “People are shocked to know I have a pretty girlfriend”
  • Hahaha

Wow! I was shocked with your cool pics!especially the last pic....it's so cute...

But most of all the good news(or bad!)that Ajaan Khajit has a pretty pretty girlfriend.There's no way it could have happened.Hahaha

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท