Meditation Changed My Life ตอนจบ


I finally understood for myself how the Buddha’s teachings would lead the way to enlightenment.

กรรมฐานที่มิชิแกน 

๑ - ๑๔ มิถุนายน ๒๕๕๔




 

However, some meditation sessions were better than others. I often felt peaceful and was able to “catch” my thoughts instantly. Other times, I felt lazy or bored, or as if my thoughts were racing. Sometimes, I had to bring back the mental notes to help me concentrate. Once, upon finishing walking meditation, I was filled with laziness about starting sitting meditation. However, almost as soon as I began sitting and all throughout the sitting meditation, I was filled with peacefulness; the feeling of laziness was completely gone. It was then that I understood another Buddhist concept: everything is impermanent and changing. Throughout the retreat, other certain memorable moments occurred when my concentration and mindfulness were unbalanced or when my mind progressed enough to reach a higher level. Once when I was doing sitting meditation, I felt an almost unbearable sensation of pricks up and down my arms, which Paa Dtuk said was a sensation of “bliss.” This occurred because concentration and mindfulness were not balanced. Another time, after about half an hour of sitting meditation, I was suddenly filled with a sensation of peace and happiness so powerful it felt as if it was washing over me in waves. Elated, I told Paa Dtuk, who warned me not to get attached to that feeling, as that would be another desire. Also, Paa Dtuk spoke of a concept of returning to my conscious self, a concept I could not understand until almost ten days passed and an understanding arose from meditation.

Through meditation practice and Paa Dtuk’s explanations of Buddhism, I finally understood for myself how the Buddha’s teachings would lead the way to enlightenment. Yet, while the theory was necessary to understand in order to appease my curious mind and provide reasoning, her teachings of meditation was the simple key to learning how to live my life with happiness and without suffering. Paa Dtuk taught me how to truly, mindfully live my life through meditation. Meditation taught me how to know myself, my thoughts, and my true self undefiled from emotions and worldly thinking. I was able to be mindful of the thoughts that arose in my mind and drop them, instead of becoming those thoughts and emotions. This was incredibly powerful. I learned to use meditation to help prevent myself from being caught up in emotions, problems, and attachment and instead see things as they were. Mindfulness also brings wisdom in that one has “right thinking” when one is thinking from a calm mind. I vitally needed to go on this retreat and to incorporate meditation into my life. In the face of life’s difficulties, I know now that I can use meditation to not only find peace from stress and problems but to also find wisdom in the calmness of my mind. I can also start a new cycle of right and good thoughts, words, and actions from my mind when I am mindful. In this way, I believe that everyone can benefit from meditation.

Paa Dtuk is the best teacher that I have had. I was completely confident in her teaching and was so inspired by her that I extended by retreat from ten days to two weeks to continue my learning. She was patient when imparting her wisdom, confident in my abilities, and caring about me as a person. The two weeks that I spent meditating with her made me a better person with the knowledge of how to lead a happy life with less suffering through meditation.  

I sincerely thank Ajarn Traipitra Visityuthasart with all my heart.

 

 


Website – ของอาจารย์ไตรพิตรา สารเศรษฐศิริ http://dhammaweb.blogsome.com/

ประวัติของอาจารย์ไตรพิตรา

ชีวิต และผลงานทางธรรม

โดย ดร. รจนา จันทร์เกษม อาจารย์ประจำแผนกศิลปศึกษา Bowling Green City School District (Ohio) จากหนังสือ กรรมฐาน (On Meditation) ฉบับพิมพ์ครั้งที่สาม (1992)

visit Arjan Tripitra's Dhamma blog at

อาจารย์ไตรพิตรา

 

Award
Receiving an award from the Princess of Thailand in 1994

คุณไตรพิตรา วิสิษฐยุทธศาสตร์ เกิดที่ กรุงเทพฯ เมื่อวันที่ ๒๑ กุมภาพันธ์ พ.ศ. ๒๔๘๑ เป็นธิดาคนเดียวของพลตรีหลวงวิสิษฐยุทธศาสตร์ และ ม.ร.ว. หญิง เพยีย (นวรัตน) วิสิษฐยุทธศาสตร์ ได้รับการศึกษาชั้นประถมและมัธยมจากโรงเรียนวัฒนาวิทยาลัย จบการศึกษาขั้นเตรียมอุดมจากโรงเรียนเตรียมอุดมศึกษา และจบปริญญาตรีบัญชีบัณฑิตจากมหาวิทยาลัยธรรมศาสตร์

คุณไตรพิตรา สมรสกับนายแพทย์ไพรัช สารเศรษฐศิริ และเดินทางไปประกอบอาชีพ ณ ประเทศสหรัฐอเมริกา มลรัฐมิชิแกน ตั้ง แต่พ.ศ. ๒๕๐๙ มีบุตรี ๒ คนคือ นางสา วพราวรัตน์และนางสาวนริพรรณ สารเศรษฐศิริ

ก่อนปี ๒๕๑๗ คุณไตรพิตรามี โรคปวดศีรษะเป็นโรคประจำตัว มีอาการติดต่อกันมานานหลายปี จนได้รับคำแนะนำจากเพื่อนว่าควรจะหาโอกาสไปศึกษาธรรมะและปฎิบัติกรรมฐาน อาจจะช่วยอาการดังกล่าวให้ทุเลาลงได้บ้าง คุณไตรพิตราจึงได้เริ่มอ่านหนังสือที่เกี่ยวกับวิปัสสนากรรมฐานจำนวนหลาย เล่ม และนอกจากนี้ยังได้กลับเมืองไทยไปฝึกเจริญกรรมฐานจากสำนักกรรมฐานและวัด ต่างๆ หลายแห่งทุกปี จนอาการโรคปวดศีรษะได้หายไป พบกับความสุขสงบเข้าแทนที่

The Former Vipassana Meditation Master

ถ่ายกับท่านเจ้าคุณธรรมธีรราชมหามุนี 

พระอาจารย์และอาจารย์ที่คุณไตรพิตราได้รับการอบรมเจริญวิปัสสนากรรมฐาน หลายท่านได้แก่ ท่านพุทธทาส พระอาจารย์ชา ท่านเจ้าคุณธรรมธีรราชมหามุนี อาจารย์แนบ มหานีรานนท์ พระมหาวิเชียร (วัดจักรวรรดิราชาวาส) คุณแม่สิริ กรินชัย พระอาจารย์ทวี พลธมฺโม (วิเวกอาศรม) พระครูไกรสรวิลาส (มิชิแกน) พระอาจารย์สุชิน พระครูธรรมธรเวชยันต์ จนฺทูปโม พระอาจารย์สุเมโธ (แบรี, แมสซาจูเสท) และอาจารย์โสบิน นามโท (ลอส แอนเจลิส, คาลิฟอร์เนีย)

เมื่อปี ๒๕๒๖ คุณไตรพิตราได้ปลงผมบวชชี ๖ อาทิตย์ที่สำนักวิปัสสนาถ้ำตอง อำเภอจอมทอง จังหวัดเชียงใหม่ หลังจากได้เข้ากรรมฐาน ๗ วัน ที่สำนักมหาศรีสยาดอ ประเทศพม่า จากประสบการณ์ทำให้เห็นว่า การเข้ากรรมฐานติดต่อกันในระยะยาวจะมีผลมาก คุณไตรพิตราจึงได้เข้าวิปัสสนากรรมฐานติตต่อกันเป็นเวลานานถึง ๓ เดือน

ด้วยเหตุนี้อาจารย์โสบิน นามโท จึงไว้วางใจและได้มอบหมายให้เริ่มการสอนกรรมฐานตั้งแต่ปี พ.ศ. ๒๕๒๘ เป็นต้นมา โดยมีคุณ JOHN STELLA เป็นศิษย์คนแรก รวมทั้งศิษย์คนอื่นๆ อีกจำนวนมาก อาทิเช่น คุณสถาพร สุขารมณ์, คุณสุชาดา กล่อมเอี้ยง, คุณ MARIA PARISEN และคุณ KAREN FARKAS เป็นต้น

นอกจากนี้คุณไตรพิตรายังได้ให้สถาปนิกปรับปรุงส่วนหนึ่งของบ้านที่ มิชิแกน ให้เป็นสถานที่ปฏิบัติกรรมฐานทุกวันเสาร์ มีพระสงฆ์ไทยหลายรูป ตลอดจนชาวไทยและชาวอเมริกันผู้สนใจ ได้มาใช้บ้านคุณไตรพิตราเป็นสถานที่ปฏิบัติ

หนังสือ BUDDHIST AMERICA ได้ให้การยกย่องกลุ่มวิปัสสนาที่บ้านของคุณไตรพิตราว่าเป็นสถาบันหนึ่งใน จำนวนห้าร้อยกว่าสำนักพุทธศาสนาในอเมริกา นับว่าเป็นเกียรติอย่างยิ่ง

ด้วยความเป็นผู้มีใจบุญสุนทาน และเป็นผู้อุปถัมภ์พุทธศาสนาในอเมริกามาโดยตลอด พวกศิษย์และเพื่อนๆ พากันตั้งสมญาบ้านคุณไตรพิตราว่า “สำนักไตรพิตราราม”

at Detroit, Michigan

คุณไตรพิตราได้รับเชิญไปสอนที่วัดไทยตามเมืองต่างๆ ในสหรัฐ เช่นที่ CHICAGO, WASHINGTON D.C., LOS ANGELES, MIAMI และ SAN FRANCISCO อย่างน้อยครั้งละ ๗ วัน แม้แต่ทางยุโรป เช่นที่ HOLLAND, GERMANY และ SWITZERLAND คุณไตรพิตราก็เคยได้รับเชิญให้ไปบรรยายและแนะนำการปฏิบัติ

ทุกครั้งที่กลับเมืองไทย คุณไตรพิตราจะบรรยายและแนะนำการปฏิบัติวิปัสสนากรรมฐานตามวัดต่างๆ ตลอดจนถวายความรู้แก่พระสงฆ์และพระนิสิตชั้นปริญญาตรี และโท ที่มหาจุฬาลงกรณราชวิทยาลัย แม้แต่สถานีโทรทัศน์ในอเมริกาและสถานีวิทยุ BBC ของอังกฤษ สถานีโทรทัศน์ในเมืองไทย และสถานีวิทยุยานเกราะ ๗๘๒ ก็เคยออกรายการของคุณไตรพิตรา

คุณไตรพิตราเขียนหนังสือเกี่ยวกับการปฏิบัติวิปัสสนากรรมฐาน โดยรวบรวมเอาวิธีการของท่านอาจารย์ทั้งหลายและประสบการณ์ของตนเอง มาถ่ายทอดให้กับผู้เข้าอบรมการปฏิบัติ ทำให้ผู้ปฏิบัติได้เข้าไปสัมผัสสติปัฏฐาน ๔ อันเป็นจุดมุ่งหมายปลายทาง

หนังสือที่คุณไตรพิตราเขียนไว้ มีทั้งภาษาไทยและภาษาอังกฤษ บทความที่เกี่ยวกับธรรมะก็ได้ลงในหนังสือรายเดือนของวัดไทยในอเมริกาเป็น ประจำ คุณไตรพิตราได้แนะนำว่าผู้ปฏิบัติควรจะเข้าปฏิบัติติดต่อกันอย่างน้อย ๗ วัน จึงจะทำให้เข้าใจดียิ่งขึ้น และจะทดสอบอารมณ์ของผู้ปฏิบัติเป็นรายบุคคลไป เพื่อให้แน่ใจว่าผู้ปฏิบัติเข้าใจถูกต้อง

คุณไตรพิตราเป็นผู้มีคุณสมบัติในการเป็นอาจารย์สอนวิปัสสนากรรมฐานอย่าง แท้ จริง เพราะได้แนะนำและชี้แจงให้เข้าใจอย่างละเอียด ไม่ปล่อยให้ศิษย์หลงงมงายอยู่แต่เพียงสมถะฝ่ายเดียว ผลการปฏิบัติและการสั่งสอนทำให้ศิษย์หลายๆท่าน ได้มีชีวิตประจำวันที่สุขสงบ

ขอให้ผลบุญกุศลที่คุณไตรพิตรากระทำ ได้ส่งผลให้ประสบแต่ความสุขและพบพระนิพพาน

เรียบเรียงมาด้วยความเคารพ
ดร. รจนา จันทร์เกษม
อาจารย์ประจำแผนกศิลปศึกษา
Bowling Green City Schools District (OHIO)

*คัดลอกจากหนังสือ กรรมฐาน (On Meditation) ฉบับพิมพ์ครั้งที่ ๓

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #กรรมฐาน
หมายเลขบันทึก: 445121เขียนเมื่อ 21 มิถุนายน 2011 07:36 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 11 ธันวาคม 2012 13:47 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-อนุญาตแบบเดียวกันจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (3)
  • Thanks for sharing such wonderful experiences like these! 
  • The age range, but I myself have never experiences these at all.
  • I want my daughter to read notes in English like these. Now, she is taking time to adjust herself  to the new status of being a graduate student of Oriental medicine. 

เรียนคุณพี่

ภาษาอังกฤษถ้าคนเขียนดีๆแล้ว อ่านแล้วไพเราะมาก

ลูกสาวเพิ่งเขียนคำอาลัยให้คุณยาย อยากให้คุณพี่ได้อ่านครับ

Yay Nong Memorial

In life, we come across certain people who we know we are blessed to have in our lives. Yay Nong was one of these people, and I feel so lucky to have known her. She was a person who was constantly smiling and laughing. Indeed, in so many pictures of her, she is smiling with unstrained joy. Always exuding kindness and warmth, she truly embraced the life with a positive and generous attitude. This in turn made those around her happier.

Yay Nong was my grandmother’s sister. Though I knew Yay Nong since I was young, I had the opportunity to see her more frequently when I went to Thailand in 2009 to 2010. She would often come over to Yay Seenuan’s house to visit her sister. In the hot afternoons, I would often sit with Yay Seenuan, Yay Nong, Pa Taew, and Pa Noi in the downstairs room. We would buy iced drinks from a street vendor after eating lunch. Yay Nong would always be joking, never taking life too seriously. When we played cards with Yay Seenuan, Yay Nong was always eager to join. She would shout my name in a voice that had a hint of mirth behind it as she gave me advice, teased me, or praised me. She always cared about me, asking me questions and remembering anecdotes from when I was younger. I remember looking to her as an inspiration: she was someone who had the vigor to live life to the fullest, yet she also had the warmth to let me understand the true meaning of family.

I will always remember one day that, to me, captures Yay Nong’s essence. My aunt Pa Taew and I went to the plaza across the street from Yay Seenuan’s house. There was a fish spa demonstration, and Yay Nong came across us sitting with our pant legs rolled up with our feet in the water. Not one to miss out, she promptly smiled, hiked up her pants, and sat down. She exclaimed and chatted with us as the fish nibbled and tickled her feet. She was the first of us three to stand in the water and throw back her head laughing. Her laugh was contagious, and I can still see Yay Nong laughing and lighting up the room with her vitality and joy.

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท