Thesaurus of Afraid Adj. 151117-4


ศัพท์อังกฤษ

Afraid Adj. (ไม่ใช้นำหน้า นาม) ตกใจกลัว = frightened

เพราะคิดว่า อาจได้รับบาดเจ็บ หรือว่าอาจเกิดบางสิ่งขึ้นได้

Afraid มีสำเนียงที่เป็นทางการ มากกว่า frightened หรือ scared

There’s no need to be afraid.

Children are often afraid of the dark.

I was afraid that I might say the wrong thing.

Kids who are afraid of the dark.

He was afraid of being caught by the police.

Zoe was half afraid (= กลัวนิดหน่อย) to go back in the house.

ในการใช้ทั่วไป ในความหมาย หวาดกลัว นิยมพูดคำว่า Scared มากกว่า afraid.

I was very scared of snakes.

I’m scared of heights.

ในความหมายว่า ห่วงกังวลกับสิ่งที่อาจเกิดขึ้น หรือจะเกิดบางสิ่งที่ไม่ดี

Afraid (that)

He was afraid that the other kids would laugh at him.

Afraid of (doing) บางสิ่ง

I didn’t tell her because I was afraid of upsetting her.

The government was afraid of a public outcry.

Afraid to do บางสิ่ง

Don’t be afraid to ask for help.

Afraid for บางคน/บางสิ่ง หมายถึง กังวลว่าอาจเกิดบางสิ่งที่ไม่ดีแก่บางคนหรือบางสิ่ง

Her father looked ill and she was suddenly afraid for him.

Many of us were afraid for our jobs.

I’m afraid เป็นภาษาพูด ใช้ในการบอกบางคน อย่างสุภาพ

ในเรื่องที่อาจ ทำให้พวกเขาเกิดความ รำคาญ อารมณ์เสีย หรือผิดหวัง

That’s the most we can offer you, I’m afraid.

I’m afraid you’ve come to the wrong address.

‘Is she very ill?’ ‘I’m afraid so. (= ตอบรับว่าใช่)

‘Did you see him?’ ‘I’m afraid not. (= ตอบปฏิเสธ)

Afraid to do บางสิ่ง หมายถึง ไม่เต็มใจที่จะทำบางสิ่ง เพราะหวาดกลัวหรือกังวล

They are afraid to express their political views.

When I was a child, I was afraid of going to sleep.

บ่อยครั้ง ที่ afraid หมายถึง หวาดกลัวหรือกังวล

ว่า บางสิ่งอาจเกิดขึ้นอันเป็นผลจากการกระทำของคุณ

They were afraid of damaging their careers.

Frightened รู้สึกห่วงกังวล เพราะอาจได้รับบาดเจ็บ หรือเพราะอาจเกิดบางสิ่งที่ไม่ดี

I was too frightened to say anything.

Many animals are frightened of fireworks.

Frightened residents called the police as the gang started throwing bricks.

Scared ใช้เฉพาะ ภาษาพูด เป็นคำที่มีความเป็นทางการ น้อยกว่า frightened

เป็นคำที่ใช้เป็นปกติในการใช้ประจำวัน

I’m scared of dogs.

Old people are too scared to go out of their homes.

Alarmed เป็นทั้ง frightened และ กังวลว่าบางสิ่งที่ไม่ดีอาจเกิดขึ้น

She was alarmed at the thought of performing in front of an audience.

Alarmed passengers spotted fuel leaking from the plane.

Fearful ใช้เป็นทางการ รู้สึก frightened ว่า บางสิ่งที่ไม่ดีอาจเกิดขึ้น

They are fearful of another terrorist attack.

He was fearful that he might make another mistake.

A fearful panic.

หมายเลขบันทึก: 597420เขียนเมื่อ 17 พฤศจิกายน 2015 21:10 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 17 พฤศจิกายน 2015 21:10 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-ไม่ดัดแปลงจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (0)

ไม่มีความเห็น

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท