Complaining in English


When complaining in English, it helps to be polite. This page will help you with this important English speaking skill.

I’m useless at complaining,more often than not I do that very-English thing where you just pretend that everything is fine and your happy with the goods/services but then you never go back there again and spend the rest of your life telling everyone how bad the place is.

You’re in a restaurant…

“my fish is cold”
“my pie is warm on the outside but its raw in the middle”
“my steak is still frozen”
“these potatoes are solid in the middle”
“this fork is dirty”

These are some example of complaining that you'll have when you're in restaurant.

I do not like to have complaining in restaurant,rather not.

but today morning at I-din coffee shop (PANASNIKHOM) I thought that she may blur.

 I ordered a pot of coffee, black, no sugar.

After five minutes the waitress brought a tray with a coffee pot, a cup, milk and sugar.

Nothing to complain about yet.

Then I poured the coffee out of the pot - it was tea, in a coffee pot.

I called the waitress over and explained that she had brought me tea in a coffee pot, which wasn’t what I’d ordered, ok, maybe because I’m not used to complaining then I could have phrased it better, she looked puzzled and took my order away.

She returned five minutes later with another tray, another coffee pot, another cup, some milk and some suger.

I poured my coffee from the coffee pot, it was tea again

I called the waitress over and gently explained that I actually wanted some coffee, not tea, I don’t drink tea you see, I know its strange, an Englishman not drinking tea, but still, ive with it love, I ordered coffee.

She looked puzzled again but took the tray away.

She returned five minutes later with another tray, a tea pot, another cup, some milk and some sugar.

I was rather hoping that because she tended to put tea in the coffee pot then she might put coffee in the tea pot, I poured it, it was tea.

I drank it.

She came over halfway through,

“Is everything alright sir ?” she asked

“Lovely, thank you” I replied.(It's still tea)(I was bored and back to school)

(I like to show her how I am Kung fu ya!!Kidding!!I am not harm like that)

 

These are some of situations for complaining.>>>>

>>

In a shop

You're in a shop and the assistant gives you the wrong change.

"Excuse me, I think you've given me the wrong change", or "Sorry, I think this change is wrong. I gave you $20, not $10."

In a hotel

"Excuse me, but there's a problem with the heating in my room."

"Sorry to bother you, but I think there's something wrong with the air-conditioning."

"I'm afraid I have to make a complaint. Some money has gone missing from my hotel room."

"I'm afraid there's a slight problem with my room - the bed hasn't been made."

When people apologise, they normally say "sorry" and offer to put the situation right.

"Excuse me, but there's a problem with the heating."

"I'm sorry - I'll get someone to check it for you."

or "Sorry to hear that - I'll send someone up."

Speaking tip

Although you may find it strange to use the word sorry when you complain, English speakers consider it polite. It will help you get what you want!

keep working man!!!! 

 

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #at the coffee shop#coffee#complaining#tea
หมายเลขบันทึก: 196426เขียนเมื่อ 25 กรกฎาคม 2008 11:40 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 6 กันยายน 2013 19:20 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: จำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (2)

It's real. what a pity that you drink tea in coffee pot.

Hello I like to study English more.can u help me????

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท