• เข้าระบบ
  • สมัครสมาชิก
  • แผงจัดการ
  • ออกจากระบบ

ข่าวผู้ได้รับพระราชทานรางวัลสมเด็จเจ้าฟ้ามหิดล 2548 ใน web site ต่างประเทศ


                 ข่าวผู้ได้รับพระราชทานรางวัลสมเด็จเจ้าฟ้ามหิดล ประจำปี 2548 คือ ศาสตราจารย์ ยูยีน โกลวาสเซ่อร์ และ ศาสตราจารย์นายแพทย์ฮารัลด์ ซูร์ เฮาเซ่น ลงใน web site ของ English People’s Daily Online ค่ะ   จึงนำมาให้หลายๆ ท่านได้อ่านค่ะ

 Thai king confers award to American, German winners

  Thailand's King Bhumibol Adulyadej on Thursday conferred the 2005 Prince Mahidol Awards to the winners-- an American specialist in anemia and a German cancer researcher-- who won the award in the fields of Medicine and Public Health. At a gracious ceremony held at the Ananda Samakhom Throne Hall here Thursday evening, the King Bhumibol presented the honorable awards to Prof. Emeritus Dr. Eugene Goldwasser from the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, University of Chicago, the United States and to Prof. Emeritus Dr. Harald zur Hausen from the German Cancer Research Center in Heidelberg.
Prof. Emeritus Dr. Goldwasser won last year's award in the field of Medicine, while Prof. Emeritus Dr. zur Hausen in the field of Public Health.
Prof. Emeritus Dr. Goldwasser has played a major role in the purification and characterization of erythropoietin, an effective therapy for severe anemia in kidney failure and cancer patients worldwide.
Prof. Emeritus Dr. zur Hausen, on the other hand, has played a major role in researching cervical cancer, a major cause of death in women. He successfully isolated two previously unknown viruses, HPV 16 and HPV 18, from tumors, leading to improved prevention and treatment.
The two winners were selected by the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation Committee, chaired by the Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn, the Thai News Agency said on Thursday.
The Prince Mahidol Award is administered by the Prince Mahidol Foundation, established in commemoration of the Centenary Birthday Anniversary of the Prince Mahidol, the King Bhumibol Adulyadej's father, on January 1, 1992 in recognition of his exemplary contribution towards progress and advancement in the fields of medicine, public health and social services.
The foundation confers two awards internationally each year, one for outstanding performance or research in medicine for the benefit of mankind and the other for outstanding contribution in public health for the well-being of people. Winners can be both individuals or institutions.
The awards consist of a medal, a certificate and a cash prize of 50,000 US dollars each.
Source: Xinhua


บันทึกนี้เขียนที่ GotoKnow โดย 

หมายเลขบันทึก: 14586
สัญญาอนุญาต: สงวนสิทธิ์ทุกประการ

ความเห็น (0)