Aloha Hawaii - กลับมาใช้ชีวิตเด็กหอ


Dear all

Now i'm writing you from a dorm room at Univ of Hawaii, Manoa campus. The time is 7pm. (Bangkok time is 12noon.) So the plane arrived no problem. The problem is that I have a cold! I took Actifed in the morning and slept throughout all the flights and even at the airport during transit. It is a little better in that the sore throat is gone (didn't take any anti-biotic yet, only cough drops). But I still have nose congestion. I will take another Actifed tonight and hope to sleep for 12 hours. :P

After we landed, I took a taxi with my colleagues from NECTEC and a Prof. from AIT. They all stay at the Sheraton Hotel.  They told me to get off with them and later go by bus to U.H. to check in. I didn't want to wait with them so I took the taxi from Sheraton to U.H. by myself. Luckily, they let me check in early. The place is called Hale Manoa at the East-West Center, U.H. It's basically a dorm building.  So...the dorm room is quite old. Not so clean either. They provide sheets and blanket which is good. BUT... the only problem is there is no towel! I just remember about a towel when I arrived. Oh what to do? Luckily my CMU junior who studies here lent hers to me. The room has two beds but luckily my roommate is not here. The room is one of 7 rooms in the living unit (5 singles, 2 doubles). The unit has a common kitchen, a lounge, and bathrooms. This mean I have to share bathrooms and toilets with 7-8 other people! Yuck! Oh well...back to the old day of undergrad life... I'll be fine...

At noon, my CMU junior and her bf took me to lunch at the pier. The restaurant sells fresh fish. I ate blackened cajun-style AHI (tuna).  Then they drove me up Tantalus drive. (We didn't do this with Pan last time.) It's curvy drive up a mountain overlooking the island. I was extremely tired and sleepy. Then we went to their house to rest. At first I thought I would spend the day shopping, but I was too sleepy!!! Instead they drove me around showing me bus stops I could take to go to the Ala Moana mall, drove by Ala Moana Beach Center, stopped at Punch Bowl National Cemetary to take some pictures, and finally took me to buy some groceries (breakfast).  Although there is a public kitchen but there is no public fridge. So I didn't buy much.

Tomorrow (Monday) is a holiday (Martin Luther King Jr.'s day). So the bank and post office are not open. But I already know where they are. I could walk there. I came back to the room around 6pm. Ate the sushi I bought at supermarket, took a shower, and now ready to sleep. :D See you tomorrow!

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #ฮาวาย
หมายเลขบันทึก: 160618เขียนเมื่อ 22 มกราคม 2008 02:51 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 11 กุมภาพันธ์ 2012 22:25 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: จำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (0)

ไม่มีความเห็น

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท