English words - Thai words


Recently, I had a chance to be a translator in a lecture given by a professor in Music Education. I realized that being a translator requires a great deal of concentration. It might be better if I had some background knowledge about music. Unfortulately, I only know how to sing and play some musical instruments. I know nothing about music theory and history. Anyway, my job's done. It was quite an interesting job, and I hope that I will have a chance to do it again.

One interesting I learned is that sometimes we don't need translation for every word. What I mean is that for some technical terms like "mouthpiece", we have Thai translation as "กำพวด". Personally, I think our Thai word for that doesn't reflect the meaning of it at all. Professor said that sometimes we need to use the original terms so that we can speak in the same language no matter what your native language is.

I myself have difficulties in understanding words like "อนุทิน" "คำหลัก" and others. Those words are originally from other language, English language in this case. I can understand those words when I try to match them with the English words I know.

Don't get me wrong, I'm 100% Thai and I love our culture and life style. I'm just confused!!!  That's all. :)

Next time I'm going to write my blog in Thai!!!

คำสำคัญ (Tags): #music
หมายเลขบันทึก: 192258เขียนเมื่อ 5 กรกฎาคม 2008 08:05 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 12 กุมภาพันธ์ 2012 00:53 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: จำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (8)

Dear Baby English

  • Your're right. Using original term in our language is the good way to do. Anyway I use my thouth in translation also.
  • You're not confused but So NICE !
  • Keep writing it.
  • Thank you.

Dear,

To involve with technical terms, we should know which words those people usually use. Sometimes it's very funny to use formal words instead of ordinary ones.

That's very interested!!!To know a new word a day is a great deal.It'll be a new chance for experience.I'm by your side and like to read and read news from all english teachers and anyone.Today it's a first day of a week, Good luck for all.

คราวหน้าจะเขียนอังกฤษ ด้วย ไทยด้วย คู่กันนะคะ คุณประจักษ์ จะได้ไม่เมื่อยมากไงคะ :)

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท