ขอไว้อาลัยให้หนึ่งในทีมผู้สร้าง RSS ซึ่งไม่สามารถใช้ชีวิตอยู่ในโลกนี้ได้อีกต่อไป


น่าเสียดายมันสมองและความคิดของ Aaron Swartz เพราะเขาเลือกที่จะจากโลกนี้ไป มากกว่าการอยู่เผชิญสิ่งต่างๆ อ่านสิ่งที่เขาเขียนเมื่อหลายเดือนที่แล้ว อยากเอามาฝากพวกเราทุกคน คิดว่าคงได้ความคิดต่างๆกันไปค่ะ สำหรับตัวเอง รู้สึกว่าเราต้องดูแล"ใจ"ของตัวเองและคนรอบข้างเอาไว้ให้ดีๆ 

Raw thought

by Aaron Swartz

Sick

I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up with Bubble City. I’ve spent a lot of the last few weeks lying in bed and drinking fluids. (With occasional breaks to play Rock Band, much to the annoyance of my neighbors.) Once again, I’ve been sick — this time, with four different illnesses.

I have a lot of illnesses. I don’t talk about it much, for a variety of reasons. I feel ashamed to have an illness. (It sounds absurd, but there still is an enormous stigma around being sick.) I don’t want to use being ill as an excuse. (Although I sometimes wonder how much more productive I’d be if I wasn’t so sick.) And, to a large extent, I just don’t find it an interesting subject. (My friends are amazed by this; why is such a curious person so uncurious about the things so directly affecting his life?)

One of my goals for this blog is to describe what it’s like to be in various situations and it struck me that I’ve never said much about what it’s like to be sick. So I figured I’d try to remedy that. (Unfortunately, being sick has made this slightly more difficult. I started this post on thanksgiving and now it’s almost four days later.)

Cold: All the time I feel tired and woozy. My throat is sore and I’m constantly searching for kleenex to address my nose. Sometimes I feel too hot, like I’m burning up. I’m always thirsty. Concentrating on anything is difficult. I just feel kind of wasted.

Upset stomach: Huge pains grind through my stomach, like it’s trying to leap out of my body. Food is always followed by pain, followed by running to the bathroom. I’m afraid to go out because I wouldn’t want to get too far from a toilet. I’m always thirsty and the dehydration makes me angry and confused. At times the pain is excruciating and even after it goes I spend some time just reeling from it.

Migraine: Ever felt someone’s nails dig into your scalp? Imagine that their nails are knives and they’re scratching thru your brain and you can begin to imagine what a migraine feels like. Light, sound, touch — everything makes it worse, making the most painful pains even more painful. Even when you quell it with a pill, you still end up feeling woozy and disconnected, as if the pill is just barely keeping the pain at bay.

Depressed mood: Surely there have been times when you’ve been sad. Perhaps a loved one has abandoned you or a plan has gone horribly awry. Your face falls. Perhaps you cry. You feel worthless. You wonder whether it’s worth going on. Everything you think about seems bleak — the things you’ve done, the things you hope to do, the people around you. You want to lie in bed and keep the lights off. Depressed mood is like that, only it doesn’t come for any reason and it doesn’t go for any either. Go outside and get some fresh air or cuddle with a loved one and you don’t feel any better, only more upset at being unable to feel the joy that everyone else seems to feel. Everything gets colored by the sadness.

At best, you tell yourself that your thinking is irrational, that it is simply a mood disorder, that you should get on with your life. But sometimes that is worse. You feel as if streaks of pain are running through your head, you thrash your body, you search for some escape but find none. And this is one of the more moderate forms. As George Scialabba put it, “acute depression does not feel like falling ill, it feels like being tortured … the pain is not localized; it runs along every nerve, an unconsuming fire. … Even though one knows better, one cannot believe that it will ever end, or that anyone else has ever felt anything like it.”

The economist Richard Layard, after advocating that the goal of public policy should be to maximize happiness, set out to learn what the greatest impediment to happiness was today. His conclusion: depression. Depression causes nearly half of all disability, it affects one in six, and explains more current unhappiness than poverty. And (important for public policy) Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy has a short-term success rate of 50%. Sadly, depression (like other mental illnesses, especially addiction) is not seen as “real” enough to deserve the investment and awareness of conditions like breast cancer (1 in 8) or AIDS (1 in 150). And there is, of course, the shame.


So I hope you’ll forgive me for not doing more. And hey, it could be worse. At least I have decent health insurance.

You should follow me on twitter here.

November 27, 2007



คำสำคัญ (Tags): #rss#Aaron Swartz
หมายเลขบันทึก: 516253เขียนเมื่อ 14 มกราคม 2013 17:50 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 14 มกราคม 2013 17:53 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-ไม่ดัดแปลงจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (5)

....Sick, Cold, Upset Stomach, Migraine, ที่ต้องให้ความสำคัญคือ .... Depressioed Mood นะคะ .... ตัวนี้สำคัญจริงๆๆ ค่ะ

ขอบคุณบทความดีดีนี้ค่ะ

ใช่ค่ะ พี่ Dr. Ple น่าเสียดายที่เขาไม่เลือกที่จะอยู่ต่อไปในโลกนี้นะคะ ทั้งๆที่เขาเป็นคนหนุ่มที่ดูจะเข้าใจตัวเองเป็นอย่างมากจากที่เราอ่านสิ่งที่เขาเขียน "Depressed Mood" น่าจะเป็นสาเหตุหลักที่พรากเขาไปค่ะ

น่าเศร้าครับ เสียดายคนดีๆ ที่มีความตั้งใจดีครับ สิ่งหนึ่งที่น่าคิดคือเขาเหมือนจะมีคนรู้จักมาก แต่เขามี "เพื่อนแท้" (เพื่อนร่วมอุดมการณ์) น้อยเหลือเกินครับ ทั้งๆ ที่เขาต่อสู้กับคดีมานานเพื่อนฝูงกลับห่างหายแทนที่จะช่วยเหลือต่อสู้ครับ

ผมคิดว่า Y Combinator (บริษัทที่สนับสนุนการเงินกลุ่ม "hackers" เพื่อสร้าง startup companies) ที่ Swartz เป็นผู้รับทุนรุ่นแรกๆ สนใจเฉพาะผลประโยชน์ทางธุรกิจเป็นหลักมากกว่าสิ่งที่ Swartz สนใจทำในช่วงหลังๆ ครับ

เรื่องนี้น่าเขียนบันทึกครับ ไว้มีโอกาสผมจะเขียนนะครับ

พี่โอ๋อ่านแล้วก็คิดเหมือนกันว่า คนที่เห็นแก่ประโยชน์ส่วนตนมากกว่าอุดมการณ์ก็คงไม่อยากจะมาเข้าพวกกับ Aaron Swartz เพราะกลัวติดร่างแหหรือยังไงเนาะ ทำไมดูเหมือนกันๆตัวเองกันออกไปทั้งนั้น เขาอาจจะผิดหวังกับคนรอบๆตัวด้วยก็ได้นะคะ เป็นเราคงท้อเหมือนกัน ยิ่งถ้าคิดถึงอายุเขาแล้วพี่โอ๋ว่าเขายัง"แกร่ง"ไม่พอในสนามโหดๆแบบนี้แน่นอนเลยค่ะ อ.ธวัชชัย เขียนนะคะ เบื้องลึกเบื้องหลังงานแบบนี้ น่าสนใจค่ะ

ตามไปอ่านแล้ว น่าเศร้าใจจังเลยค่ะ

คนเก่งและ Bright ขนาดนี้  ต้องมาจบชีวิตแบบนี้ 

อุปสรรคและโอกาสก็สำคัญ  แต่ขวัญและกำลังใจของตัวเองก็สำคัญที่สุด 

ต้องแกร่งไว้ก่อนใช่ไหมค่ะคุณโอ๋ แม้วันนี้โอกาสแห่งการคลี่คลายจะยังมาไม่ถึง

แต่หากรักษาชีวิตตัวเองไว้ก่อน .. ยังมีความหวัง เวลาและโอกาสที่จะทำเรื่องเดิม หรือเรื่องอื่นๆ ต่อได้อีกค่ะ


ขอบคุณคุณโอ๋ที่นำเรื่องราวดีๆ มาแชร์นะคะ

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท