สรุปขั้นตอนการติดตั้ง VMware Server บน Ubuntu


สรุปขั้นตอนการติดตั้ง VMware Server บน Ubuntu

สรุปขั้นตอนการติดตั้ง VMware Server บน Ubuntu

How I installed VMWare Server

First I brought up a text terminal by clicking Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal. All command lines are given on this terminal.

  1. Typed on command line:
  2. echo "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu feisty-commercial main" | sudo tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list

    1. (This command appends to file /etc/apt/sources.list the text /echoed.
      To avoid typing mistakes, select the line above with the mouse, move
      the mouse pointer (arrow) into the terminal area, click the mouse
      middle button and press the [Enter] key. Your user password will be
      required at this point. The echoing of the text on your terminal
      acknowledges that it was written in the file.)
    2. I registered (gratis) at
      http://register.vmware.com/content/registration.html and asked for a serial number, which appeared on the browser window.
      I selected that number with the mouse and typed on the terminal:

       

      cat > vmware-serial-number.txt

      pressed [Enter] key, clicked the middle button of the mouse, then typed [Enter]​[Ctrl-D]. That way I saved the serial number for later use in a text file.

    3. Typed line command:
      sudo apt-get update
    4. Typed line command:
      sudo apt-get install vmware-server

      Then apt-get downloaded about 85 MB of files. After installation, 143 MB of disk space was taken.

    5. In the installation process I was prompted to accept the EULA, which I did.
    6. The vmware-server installer then asked for the serial number that I had saved; on the already open terminal I typed
      cat vmware-serial-number.txt

      which echoed the 20-character code on screen. I selected that number
      with the mouse and clicked the middle button in the prompt field. OK.

    7. When the installation ended, I went to Applications ->
      System, and found the vmware server square symbol at the bottom of the
      pulldown menu. Success!
    8. I clicked on that symbol, and I was greeted by the Connect to Host dialog box, where I clicked on the Connect button.
    9. The VMware Server Console popped up, waiting for orders.
    10. I then needed an installation disk, so I went to the Linspire site and downloaded the .iso file for the distribution into my /opt/downloads/ directory.
หมายเลขบันทึก: 110986เขียนเมื่อ 12 กรกฎาคม 2007 19:14 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 13 มิถุนายน 2012 02:58 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: จำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (0)

ไม่มีความเห็น

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท